Welcome to the reallymoving forum
Got questions and need some advice? Our forums have answers on everything from choosing the right property, to renting and selling.
  • If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Sole ownership for a couple?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sole ownership for a couple?

Hi All,

We want to buy a house with my partner (we've actually made an offer already) but I'm studying at the moment and we won't get enough mortgage if we both apply for it (£75,000 if only my boyfriend applies and £55,000 if both of us do). We could wait a few months (the course ends in June), I could find a job, and then we could both apply for a mortgage. However, I want to start a postgraduate course in October and I would like to apply for a loan, so we thought that it might be a better solution for my boyfriend to apply on his own. We could keep my credit history clean then in case we need another loan in the future.

But here comes the ownership issue. I am going to put 5% of the deposit (my partner - 10%) and we're going to split the cost of the mortgage between us. We would like to be equal legal owners of the house but, obviously, it's impossible to do it if both of our names don't appear on the mortgage.

We've been together for 8 years now and we trust each other, but if we make him a sole owner of the house, what happens if we split up? What happens if he dies? We were adviced to sign a declaration of trust but will this be enough? For example, what if I we split up and I decide to sell my share? Will I be able to do this, if my partner is a legal owner of the house?

Is this a good solution? Or is there a bettrer one? Or maybe we should both take the mortgage?