Welcome to the reallymoving forum
Got questions and need some advice? Our forums have answers on everything from choosing the right property, to renting and selling.
  • If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Help Needed please. Buying out siblings share of inherited property.

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help Needed please. Buying out siblings share of inherited property.

Hello. Please bear with me i'm new to all this. the last experience of buying/selling property was my house 22 years ago!

Sadly in June my father died. He left a sum of money and his house which he fully owned to myself and my brother and sister, equal shares. I live in Somerset where the property is, my sister in Yoekshire and my brother in spain. They have no interest in the property and want it sold and 'their share' ASAP.

I have offered and they have agreed for me to buy out their share in the property. We have agreed on a price and there is no dispute. I would be paying cash, there is no mortgage or loans involved.

My sister and I are exectuters of the will. I have handled probate which has been quite straightforward solely by myself and have a interview with probate next week. My sister has deferred herself.

Obviously i want everything legally watertight. My relationship with my siblings, especially my sister who deliberately moved last year leaving our father who was dying for me to care for, is a best strained.

How is it best to proceed? Do I have to have a seperate solicitor from her, or can one represent us all. Obviously my brother is in Spain so how will that work signing the papers etc?