Welcome to the reallymoving forum
Got questions and need some advice? Our forums have answers on everything from choosing the right property, to renting and selling.
  • If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Interesting Survey issue

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Interesting Survey issue

Hi all,
    I'm new to this forum as I'm new to selling houses - this will be my first sale of (hopefully) not many houses if this one is anything to go by!

Background: Bought house in 2004, it's over 100 years old, victorian 3-bed terrace with rear extension (from 80's).
    There is a long (but thin) crack in the plaster on the side passage wall upstairs where the front part of house joins rear part - it pretty much runs from floor to ceiling and is around 2mm thick on average.

We are lucky in that the previous owners gave us their homebuyer survey from 2000 and the previous owner's homebuyer survey from 1997. We had a survey done in 2004 when we bought the house so have a copy of this also.

The 1997 homebuyer survey describes the crack in detail and says it is an old settlement crack, common in properties of this age particularly with the extension and fact that house is on a slope. It says that further movement not expected and that no remedial work is needed. (The crack has therefore been around for at least as early as 1997.)

The 2000 survey describes the crack and again says it is old settlement, not an issue and no remidial work required.

Our 2004 survey describes crack and once again says that it's a settlement crack, not an issue and again, no remidial work needed.