Welcome to the reallymoving forum
Got questions and need some advice? Our forums have answers on everything from choosing the right property, to renting and selling.
  • If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Thinking of buying to let - few questions

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Thinking of buying to let - few questions

Hi all! It's my first post here

For a while I've been thinking of buying a flat to let, but I need some help. I'm a first year university student at the moment, from my gap year I saved up £5000 ish, and this summer I have a temp full time job so I'm hoping to make another £2k by the end of the summer. Basically, with this and my weekend job I'm hoping by January to have at least £10k saved.

So my question is, is this enough to put down a mortgage for a £90k-£100k flat? If I were to then let it, and make the tenants pay their own bills etc. and the rent they pay will go towards the mortgage. Is this how it's normally done? Sorry, I know I sound completely inexperienced but I'd really appreciate some advice. Am I on the right tracks or have I completely got the wrong end of the stick here?

Thanks in advance!
    'The one thing that doesn't abide by majority rule is a person's conscience.' Atticus - To Kill A Mockingbird

Re: Thinking of buying to let - few questions

hi. ive just started out in property and im half way through refurbing a house..Ive been researching a lot lately im not an expert by a long shot.