Welcome to the reallymoving forum
Got questions and need some advice? Our forums have answers on everything from choosing the right property, to renting and selling.
  • If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Property advice, please help

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Property advice, please help

Hi there, my name is Jay 29 and I work as a Civil Engineer in Glasgow.

In 2001, my mum and dad bought a house for £65k which they sold 3 years later for £123k.

This resulted in me catching the bug, and since Feb 2008, I have bought 3 flats.

To be honest, I dont know how or why I did it, as they are mortgaged on interest only and as such, the rent i get in only covers the mortgage.

I was hoping to sell the flats in 4 or 5 years making around £20-£30k on each, but at the moment this just doesnt seem realistic.

Can you guys give me any advice as i seem to be lost.

Many thanks

Jay

Re: Property advice, please help

If I were in your boots and the mortgage was covered I would hold onto them for a while, unless you desperately need to sell. If you need to sell get them valued and evauate how much they have dropped.
    Portugal Property for Sale

Comment

If you're looking to sell around 2012 - 13 or thereabouts, you may be in with a chance of a profit then, but nobody's got a crystal ball.

Can you make any improvements that would increase your monthly rent? Subdivide large rooms to make a 1-bed into a 2-bed, etc? Upgrade kitchens, bathrooms?

Are there energy savings you could make that would cut down bills? Upgraded DG, cavity wall insulation, upgrading heating?

Are there improvements you could make that would reduce maintenance costs?