Welcome to the reallymoving forum
Got questions and need some advice? Our forums have answers on everything from choosing the right property, to renting and selling.
  • If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Mortgage Question

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Mortgage Question

Hi,

I am new to the mortgage environment and was wondering could someone explain to me if a mortgage for a property is based on the value of the property, say for arguments sake £150,000 or the actual price you get the mortgage for say £140,000?

If you have an agreement in principle for £150,000, and a deposit of say 15%, and you get the property for £140,000 due to slow market, is the mortgage based on the £140,000?

Thanks

Re: Mortgage Question

Hi callum,

If you have a mortgage agreed in principle with a lender then this tells you the maximum amount of loan you are able to raise (from that particular lender, some may offer more). This amount is in addition to any funds that you are able to put down yourself as your deposit.

So, if you have a mortgage agreed of £150,000 and you have a deposit of £50,000 you can buy a property up to £200,000.

If you have a mortgage agreed of £150,000 and your deposit is £450,000 then you can buy a property valued £600,000.