Welcome to the reallymoving forum
Got questions and need some advice? Our forums have answers on everything from choosing the right property, to renting and selling.
  • If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

First time mortgage and deposit advice

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• First time mortgage and deposit advice

Hi, I was wondering if anybody could give me any advice on a mortgages and deposits.

My boyfriend and I are looking to buy the house that I currently rent. The person that owns the house has lived in Australia for 10 years and just wants a quick sale so as I have been renting the property for 2 years he has offered it to us for £110,000.

The property however is a good sized 3 bedroom house with large garden and has been valued at £160,000. A few of the other houses in the same road have sold recently for between £165,000 and £170,000.

As we would have £50,000 equity in the house from the start would we be able to get a mortgage for £110,000 without a deposit?

This is the first time we will have bought a house so i'm not too sure how it works but having been looking at mortgages and from my understanding they are loan-to-value, meaning they give you 70% of the property value and you have to make up the rest.

So in effect if 65% of the value is all we need then we could get a 65% mortgage without a deposit?

Sorry if thats confusing! But if anyone knows whether that would be right or how it works if im completely wrong that would be great!

We dont want to miss out on getting the house at such a cheap price but have no way of getting a deposit in time so any advice would be really appreciated!

Thanks

Dannii

Re: First time mortgage and deposit advice