Welcome to the reallymoving forum
Got questions and need some advice? Our forums have answers on everything from choosing the right property, to renting and selling.
  • If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Using interior designers to increase value...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Using interior designers to increase value...

I’m new to developing, and I recently renovated a house, and it simply wasn’t selling. I went with what is the standard clean modern white walls finish. However, since it wasn’t selling, I took a slightly risky move and contacted a local interior design company to redesign the main living area. It cost me just £1500 to do plus their £500 fee, which was well worth it as not only did the place have an offer within 2 weeks, but I raised the price by £5000!

Is this something anyone else has seen or was it just coincidence?
    Just an interesting idea. Dispense with the usual smooth light colours and go for something that really stands out????? (If you would like to know who I used ask). seems people are happy to pay more when they just know its something they want?

What do you think?

Thanks

Re: Using interior designers to increase value...

Renovating house must be properly done as well as decorated in all aspect so it can easily catch attention by buyers. From roof to floor, from rooms to curtains etc, it must be well designed.

Comment