Welcome to the reallymoving forum
Got questions and need some advice? Our forums have answers on everything from choosing the right property, to renting and selling.
  • If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

No announcement yet.

On-line estate agency

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• On-line estate agency

I'm looking for opions on what buyers/sellers would be attracted to in an on-line estate agency.

I am considering becoming self-employed to do this. I am a recently qualified agent but have been working in estate agency for five years. Even as someone involved in the industry, I do feel that the commissions paid by vendors are far too high and often the service received is less than satisfactory.

There are some web based only agencies but they don't offer a personal service as they are nationwide.

My idea, is that I would provide a web-based agency on a localised level so that I am visiting clients homes myself to offer accurate valuations, I'm keeping them updated and helping them through the conveyancing process once the property is sold subject to contract and offering all the same advertising and marketing as a conventional estate agent, except no high street shop front. This way I would be offering a personal service for a much lower fee.

Your thought either way please?

many thanks

The trouble I think with an online estate agency is that it's hitting the tail-end of the growth cycle and right at the downturn of the market.

So while I think it's a great idea, I think there's a serious danger that the timing will suck.

Traditionally, boom years see a whole range of new estate agency start-ups, only to see them trimmed away as times grow hard.