Welcome to the reallymoving forum
Got questions and need some advice? Our forums have answers on everything from choosing the right property, to renting and selling.
  • If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Help wanted for property developing beginner

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help wanted for property developing beginner

Hi,
    I'm keen to start property developing but wanted to get all the advice i can get from people who have already started doing it.
    I'm 27, just recently bought my 1st home with my wife and i'm an electrician.i can do alot of the work myself as i'm in the construction bussiness and know the right people who could help me ie;plumbers/plasterers.
    Do you go to the bank with your plans in place ie; I've found a house to develop, its 100k. the work that needs done to it costs 20k, the house is estimated to be worth 150k when the work is complete, it will take 4 weeks to develop.
    as i'm new to this any help would be great, would i need to take a 2nd mortgage out for the developing property or would it be a loan??
    i am passionate about property developing and want to try it, i know location is key, any tips would be very much appreciated.

many thanks,

Dean.

The big problem you've got at present is a slowing property market, lowering prices, slowing demand (as the buy to let market dries up), plus the credit crunch making banks less enthusiastic about lending.

So if you're looking to develop property, I'm afraid you're trying to join in at the very end of an economic cycle, ie, downturn.