Welcome to the reallymoving forum
Got questions and need some advice? Our forums have answers on everything from choosing the right property, to renting and selling.
  • If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

My idea

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• My idea

I'm a complete novice, so everything I'm about to say is based on my very limited knowledge, and lots of ignorance, although I've been doing some reading.

My mum has a 2 bed flat (in a block of flats) that she bought a few years ago for about 80,000. I'm assuming that it's now worth about 100,000. She also has 50,000 saved up. She wants to leave that to me, and her flat too.

My idea is this :

She sells her flat for 100,000. Now she has 150,000.

Out of that, I/she/we buy a 1 bed flat for 120,000, and put aside 20,000 (inc. contingency) for renovating it, and I live on the remaining 10,000 for 1 year (that's not a problem).

I do up the flat, and sell it for (don't laugh, I can only estimate, and I know very little about this so this might not be realistic) 175,000. So, profit = 35,000 (20% of the resell price).

Out of that, I then take another 10,000 for myself to live on (or at least just put it aside). Out of the remaining 165,000, I buy another property for 145,000 and spend 20,000 doing it up.

And so on.

That's the basic idea, and I'm obviously using very rough figures and I know that there are things that I've not taken into account, but I'd just like some feedback on the basics of this concept. Just an idea of how doable and realistic it is, and any suggestions of how to tweak it if necessary. Thanks.

Re: My idea

Hi