Welcome to the reallymoving forum
Got questions and need some advice? Our forums have answers on everything from choosing the right property, to renting and selling.
  • If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Cost effective developing

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cost effective developing

Hi all,

I am very new to property development and renovation in general.

My question is in relation to being able to save costs, thereby maximising profit.

When re-fitting a property, for example, central heating, double glazing, kitchen, bathroom etc. where do you tend to go?

I mean, I could go to Wickes, B & Q, Homebase etc. but if these are likely to be more than a builders merchants, then what builders merchants? Also, what would be available (i.e. will all the items above be available from somewhere like Jewsons)?

I am quite excited about doing this, but I don't want to overspend on my first property. (My first property will probably be something like a terrace and mainly to get the experience, so, likely profit is probably going to be quite low. The other side of the experience is that if I make a loss, I won't make too heavy a loss and can put it down to experience.)

Thanks all for any advice you can impart.
    Community spirited? http://www.AshfieldFOCUS.com

Most of your profit is made at the price you buy, for example sources properties at 20% to 25% discount to value, if the property needs some development owrk you can make more on top. But you will make most by purchasing at a big discount. ... much more than the 1 or 2 thousands you will save on buying materials.

Comment

Hi,