Welcome to the reallymoving forum
Got questions and need some advice? Our forums have answers on everything from choosing the right property, to renting and selling.
  • If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Putting an offer on

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Putting an offer on

Hello

First time buyer here!

We are looking at a house on the market for £225k. It is nowhere near that value (accordint to Zoopla its £190-195k).

Do you think a seller would accept an offer £35k under the asking price?

Thanks

Re: Putting an offer on

Why do you think Zoopla is right? What is their justification for £190-195K?
    RICHARD WEBSTERwww.rwco.co.uk
    As a conveyancing solicitor I want to be helpful (England/Wales only) but can't accept liability for this.

Comment

Originally posted by Richard Webster View Post
      Why do you think Zoopla is right? What is their justification for £190-195K?
      I am not saying they are right, but this is what the estimated value is....

Comment

There's no reason at all to presume the Zoopla price is accurate. Frankly, they are simply automated guesses - you really can't put any faith in these.

On the other hand, nothing to stop you putting in a low offer if you want to.

Comment

I don't think that Zoopla estimates are particularly reliable, they'll just be based on a load of different statistics pulled together in a haphazard way rather than genuine valuations based on inspections of the properties. To be honest if you used them as a bargaining tool it might do your negotiation more harm than good.