Welcome to the reallymoving forum
Got questions and need some advice? Our forums have answers on everything from choosing the right property, to renting and selling.
  • If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How to get into new build?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to get into new build?

Hi,

I am a roofer and have friends/colleagues of all different trades. I have renovated a few properties in my spare time and learned a huge amount along the way. Although I enjoy it and seem to be making good profits at the moment, ideally I would like to get into new builds.

I have SO many questions but I'll start with the following:

1) Does it differ a whole lot from renovating? and how?

2) What is the process for valuing a project? From researching plots, planning, build costs and resale values, but also things I will not have learnt yet (though renovating) like anticipating ground work costs etc? etc?

I'll start with asking the above, thanks in advance!

Re: How to get into new build?

As per my knowledge, renovating is just like altering an existing structure, there may or may not be much construction needed on the base level. You are just modifying the existing structure to give it a new look, while for construction you have to begin from the base that is completely different and more complicated.